The Jet Observer

Nominations sought for Joint Women’s Leadership Symposium awards

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, November 28, 2012 3:21 pm

WASHINGTON (NNS) — The Navy Office of Diversity and Inclusion-Women’s Policy, OPNAV N134W, announced in NAVADMIN 338/12 that they are accepting nominations for the 2013 Capt. Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards.

Presented annually, the Capt. Joy Bright Hancock and Master Chief Anna Der-Vartanian Leadership Awards recognize and honor the inspirational and visionary leadership of Navy service members whose ideals and dedication foster a positive working environment, while reinforcing and furthering the integration of women into the Navy.

Nominations are now being accepted for four award categories: one senior officer (O-4 and senior, one junior officer (WO-3 and junior), one senior enlisted member (E-7 through E-9), and one junior enlisted member (E-5 through E-6). Nominees should embody inspirational, innovative and imaginative leadership demonstrated by example both on and off-duty. Additionally, applicants should be mature leaders who have shown exceptional leadership over time and have persevered to overcome challenges while serving. Nominations should also address the professional accomplishments, leadership style and community involvement of the service member.

Candidates must be nominated by their commanding officer or officer in charge and receive an endorsement from the command’s immediate superior in command. Nominations are open to both active and Reserve service members. The award winners will be honored at the 2013 Sea Service Leadership Association (SSLA) Joint Women’s Leadership Symposium in Washington, D.C., March 11, 2013.

Nominations are due to OPNAV N134W no later than Jan. 18, 2013. Packages shall be submitted electronically via the command’s ISIC to Chief Operations Specialist Jessica Myers, senior enlisted advisor to the Office of Women’s Policy at

Previous award winners include Navy Senior Chief Air Traffic Controller (AW/SW) JoAnn Ortloff, who was serving aboard USS John C. Stennis (CVN 74) when she was selected as the 2000 Capt. Joy Bright Hancock Senior Enlisted Leadership Award winner. Soon after receiving her award, Ortloff was selected for promotion to master chief, and then was chosen for the command master chief program in 2003. In May of 2012, Ortloff became fleet master chief for Commander, Naval Forces Europe and Africa, and upon her selection, Ortloff became the highest ranking enlisted woman in the Navy, and the second woman in naval history to reach the position of fleet master chief.

Navy pilot Lt. Megan Donnelly, the 2012 Capt. Joy Bright Hancock junior officer leadership award recipient, was also recently selected for the highly competitive Career Intermission Pilot Program (CIPP). This program allows Donnelly to take time off from her current career path to pursue personal and professional goals outside the Navy, optimizing life/work integration. Upon completion of the program, Donnelly will return to the Navy to resume her career path pipeline.

For more information about the awards or to download an award template, visit

For more information about the leadership symposium, visit

Welcome to the discussion.

  • Register

    If you do not have an account, set one up! It's easy to do and it's free!
    Registration is to comment and post events only. We will not share your personal information or use it for any other purposes.